RSS

HRE tour: Bavaria- Dress design

07 Dec

Since the fabric did not arrive in time the Freisan dress is on  hold until the end of January.   So instead, we will be looking at Bavaria.  It is rare that I do a long dress for SCA events, but this is for 12th night. This event is all about standing around looking pretty.  I also have 2 other projects I am working on for the event, but they are super seekret elevation surprises. So you all will just have to wait for those.

But in the mean time, I give you Bavaria, in silk brocade, silk twill, velvet and dupioni.

Bavarian BavarianRoadmap

The inspiration is Anna Scheit, and was painted by Barthel Bruyn in the 1520s.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2012 in 16th Century, German, Sewing

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “HRE tour: Bavaria- Dress design

  1. scaeveryday

    December 7, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    Reblogged this on SCAeveryday and commented:
    I really need to figure out how to sew more complicated garb. I really do enjoy running around in my wool peplos, but I need to learn technique sometime soon!

     
  2. Fionn

    December 8, 2012 at 3:05 am

    Could you please identify the sitter and artist in the lovely portrait that is your inspiration? Many thanks

     
    • Alysten

      December 8, 2012 at 3:17 am

      Oh yes. I forgot to add that. I will update the post shortly. Thank you for the reminder.

       
      • Fionn

        December 8, 2012 at 5:12 am

        Thanks

         

Leave a Reply

 
