RSS

Subtlety- Spanish Peacock

26 Mar

I am trying to expand beyond “sugar” with subtleties. Too many people do not understand the non-edible versions of the term.  It’s been a while since I’ve done something structural and edible, that was not sugar.

For our Mudthaw event, I created a Spanish Peacock bread subtlety.  The bread is a basic Manchet recipe that has been colored with food coloring. I used toothpicks to attach the wings, neck and head.  The back lifted off and was filled with herbed goat cheese (saffron, parsley, sage, thyme, cardamom and grains of paradise).

The neck was a new to me culinary trick for baking “round shaped” bread. It was rolled into strips and then coiled up a conical frame (made from parchment).  The overall result was interesting, but worked once I had a head on and it pinned to the body.  It was a good technique to try.  Definitely a step up on the complexity scale.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in Cooking

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Subtlety- Spanish Peacock

  1. opusanglicanum

    March 26, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    havae you tried the seventeenth century thing where you bone out a whole chicken (that bits tricky as you have to bone it complete from the inside, including the legs) stuff it, shape it, then dress it with cucumber scales so it resembles a dragon?

     
    • Alysten

      March 26, 2012 at 8:18 pm

      I’ve done several galentines that require that level of boning. But I haven’t done one of those types of subtleties yet. I am hoping to attempt one when I run a feast again in September.

      For normal events I get twitchy when I am dealing with proteins and lack of refrigeration/ovens. Do you have a source for that description? It sounds fascinating.

       
      • opusanglicanum

        March 27, 2012 at 9:03 pm

        there is a c15th version, and the latest example (the one I used) was from richard dolby cook’s dictionary of 1832, quoted in elizabeht ayrtons english provincial cooking, 1980

         

Leave a Reply

 
