RSS

Sugar sculpting research: Period appropriate bases

25 Apr

I had a brainstorm for a project. I am going to do a science type experiment with various types of bases for sugar sculpting. Maybe have different frameworks with the different period type materials and sealants. I can keep track of which ones work vs relative weights vs cost vs accessibility of material. Maybe different decomp rates. No time line as of yet.

I will keep this as a research project with visual aids, separate from my sugar work.  I will be able to use it as an appendix to any sculptures that I do. I come up with these things as I am sewing (mind numbing work, the sewing). Since my hands are on auto pilot, I can think of other things. I think this will help me find something that works and is both economical and sustainable.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in Sugar

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
