RSS

Dress evolution- Saxion dress 2.0

14 Jan

I have been working on this dress. I wasn’t happy with the first go around.  Nice blue silk taffeta.  The train wasn’t long enough, the skirt wasnt full enough and it just made a crunchy/swooshy sound when I walked.  It’s not  a bad dress, it just isn’t my dress.  Once I found ‘the fabric’ I began dress version 2.0.

New dress is burgundy velvet, with blue and gold trim.  Underskirt is orange silk.  I have the correct head wear to go with the dress.  And the dress feels better.  It moves better.  It looks better.  I still have to adjust the belt, but other than that, I think it is ready to go for Saturday.  I will know more about the overall success of the garment after wearing it for a day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2011 in 16th Century, German, Sewing

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Dress evolution- Saxion dress 2.0

  1. Ketterlyn von Espenschied

    November 30, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Good afternoon,

    I just happened upon your blog through a google search on padded roll hats and I just wanted to say that I absolutely love that outfit. Can you describe the construction of the hat for me? Also do you have long or short hair? if long, what do you do with it under the hat?

    At the moment, I’m working on my first houppeland and padded roll hat following advice from articles on Cynthia Virtue aka Cynthia du Pré Argent’s website: http://www.virtue.to/articles. However, I am always interested in additional perspectives.

    Thank you ever so much!
    Ketterlyn von Espenschied

     
    • Alysten

      November 30, 2011 at 10:16 pm

      Hi,
      Thanks for stopping by. I am the autocrat for our yearly baronial Yule event and I am a bit pudding brained right now. A really good friend of mine wrote an article for us in our newsletter explaining how to build the wuslthaube and steuchlein (padded roll and veil coverings). http://www.bhakail.eastkingdom.org/salamander/May11_Salamander.pdf. It starts on page 2.

      I have long hair and wear it up in a bun. It tucks out of the way easily enough. I hop I have given you a little to go on for now. I can write and explain in more detail after the weekend.

      Cheers!
      Alesone

       

Leave a Reply

 
